Puts You In The Picture

ABOUT TIMELEAPVR

Using state-of-the-art technology, TimeLeapVR develops authentic, informative and customizable art experiences in Virtual Reality. After the deferential study of the original from a distance, it suddenly becomes explorable, perceptible, and palpable through the possibility of entering it in Virtual Reality. Such a personal and interactive involvement into an artwork offers new perspectives to art enthusiasts and entices those who had not found a gateway to the art world before.

MODERN

State-of-the-art Virtual Reality technology makes classical paintings come alive. By using cutting-edge game engines, we can respond flexibly to the potential as well as the challenges that arise from the individual work of art. Room Scale VR enables the viewer to move freely within the realm of the artwork: movements of the body, head and hands are mirrored into the virtual world realistically. Not only does this enable interaction, but also creates a strong sense of immersion and presence inside the experience. Thanks to 3D sound, the soundscape adjusts naturally to the position of the viewer.

AUTHENTIC

The artist’s individual style as well as the specific characteristics of an artwork are recreated by TimeLeapVR. Every single detail of a painting – from the brushwork and the color scheme to the structure of the canvas – is transferred into the experience authentically. The backstory of the painting is elaborated in collaboration with art historians and museums and integrated into the experience in form of dialogues, interactions and storytelling, thereby securing a learning effect.

INFORMATIVE

In a museum, artworks and their specific background information are usually presented separately. Unfortunately, the connection between the two can get lost in the process of viewing or seem cryptic to a particular audience. TimeLeapVR combines both elements to create one singular modern art experience which is informative as much as it is entertaining. This works because the viewer’s personal involvement in the story, his interactive participation in the events and the incentive of concrete tasks initiate an autonomous exploration and investigation of the artwork. This allows him to gather information on all those aspects that he is particularly interested in – independently and at his own pace.

CUSTOMIZABLE

TimeLeapVR enables an individualization of the art experience: with regards to content and audiovisual realization, its style can be adjusted to individual target and age groups as well as their interests and knowledge. In line with the educational turn, TimeLeapVR is developing a modern methodology which allows for the democratization of the access to art knowledge for people of all ages and with different demographic, social as well as educational backgrounds.

Puts You In The Picture

ÜBER TIMELEAPVR

Mithilfe modernster Technologie entwickelt TimeLeapVR authentische, informative und individualisierbare Kunsterfahrungen in Virtual Reality. Nach der respektvollen Betrachtung des Originals aus der Distanz wird dieses durch die Möglichkeit des Betretens in Virtual Reality plötzlich erkundbar, erlebbar und spürbar.  Eine derart persönliche und aktive Einbindung in ein Kunstwerk eröffnet Kunstbegeisterten eine völlig neue Perspektive und lockt all jene, die bisher noch keinen rechten Zugang zur Kunst gefunden haben.

MODERN

Neueste Virtual Reality Technologie erweckt klassische Gemälde zum Leben. Durch unsere Arbeit mit modernen Game Engines können wir flexibel sowohl auf das Potential als auch auf die Herausforderungen der individuellen Kunstwerke reagieren. Room Scale VR ermöglicht es dem Betrachter, sich frei im Gemälde zu bewegen. Die Bewegungen von Körper, Kopf und Händen werden dabei realistisch in die virtuelle Welt übertragen. Dies ermöglicht nicht nur Interaktionen, sondern erschafft auch ein starkes Gefühl von Immersion und Präsenz. Durch 3D Sound verändert sich die Geräuschkulisse simultan mit der Position des Benutzers.

AUTHENTISCH

Der künstlerische Stil und die charakteristischen Eigenheiten eines Werkes werden in TimeLeapVR adaptiert. Jedes Detail eines Gemäldes – vom Pinselduktus über die Farbgebung bis zur Struktur der Leinwand – wird authentisch in die Experience übertragen. Die Hintergründe der Gemälde werden gemeinsam mit Kunsthistorikern und dem Museum erarbeitet und der Zielsetzung entsprechend in Form von Dialogen, Interaktionen und Storytelling in die Experience eingebunden, um einen Lerneffekt zu gewährleisten.

INFORMATIV

Im Museum werden Kunstwerk und Hintergrundinformation getrennt voneinander betrachtet. Dadurch kann der Bezug zueinander verloren gehen. TimeLeapVR vereint beides zu einer einzigen modernen Kunsterfahrung, welche gleichermaßen lehrreich und unterhaltsam gestaltet ist. Dies funktioniert, indem die persönliche Einbindung des Betrachters in eine Geschichte, seine interaktive Teilnahme am Geschehen und der Anreiz konkreter Aufgaben eine eigenständige Erkundung und Erforschung des Gemäldes anstoßen. Dadurch kann er sich selbstständig und im eigenen Tempo Informationen über all jene Aspekte des Werkes erarbeiten, die ihn selbst interessieren.

INDIVIDUELL

TimeLeapVR ermöglicht eine Individualisierung der Kunsterfahrung: Ihr Stil kann inhaltlich und audiovisuell an einzelne Ziel- und Altersgruppen sowie deren Interessen und Wissensstand angepasst werden. Im Sinne des Educational Turn bietet TimeLeapVR eine zeitgenössische Methodik, die es ermöglicht, den Zugang zu Kunstwissen für alle Menschen jeden Alters und mit unterschiedlichsten demographischen, sozialen und bildungsbezogenen Hintergründen zu demokratisieren.